Quotes by Rogers Hornsby

“Any ballplayer that don’t sign autographs for little kids ain’t an American. He’s a communist.”

“(Ty) Cobb is all wet. He talks about a game which had no night play, a game in which the pitcher had everything his own way. He could apply saliva, tobacco juice, mud, talcum powder, or a file to the ball. He could load it with phonograph needles, raise the seams and do anything else he wished with it. And a ball remained in play until it was ready to break apart. Now the advantage is all with the hitters.”

“I don’t like to sound egotistical, but every time I stepped up to the plate with a bat in my hands, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for the pitcher.”

“I don’t want to play golf. When I hit a ball, I want someone else to go chase it.”

“It don’t make no difference where I go or what happens, so long as I can play the full nine.”

“I’ve never been a yes man.”

“People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring.”

(Source: RogersHornsby.com)

2 responses to “Quotes by Rogers Hornsby

  1. More than wonderful. But are we sure he didn’t use the popular short form: “He’s a commie”?

  2. Fantastic! One of the greatest Cardinals of all time…His name is on the fence in left….

Leave a Reply

