The Hot Stove

“People ask me what I do in the winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring.” —Rogers Hornsby

Listen to a recorded broadcast of a Senators vs. Indians game with play-by-play by Walter Johnson, circa 1939. (Via GriffithStadium.com)

Image of the old Griffith Stadium, Washington, D.C., via the Library of Congress.

Red Sox pitchers and catchers report to Spring Training on Feb. 19.

One response to “The Hot Stove

  1. The conceit among trout fishers is that we’re such all unreconstructed fanatics that when fishing possibilities dwindle over the winter, we go quietly insane. And some do – and not so quietly…
    Sporting Life by John Gierach

    Rockies Fantasy Camp begins in Tucson soon.
    It will be the last spring training at Hy Corbett Field. Next winter will find them in some ultra new digs outside of Phoenix. Much to the dismay of recalcitrant curmudgeons like myself.

    Its been such a brutally cold winter that only tailwaters below large dams are open for those who simply cannot abide not wetting a line in the hopes of teasing a sonambulent trout to rise.

    Myself, I tie flies, and read and dream…going quietly insane. By the end of February, the cabin fever has a grip on my heart and gut. I will have probably imbibed too much whiskey and worn the fly magazine and seed catalogs dog eared.

    February is NOT my favorite month.

Leave a Reply

